START-UP NY helps you start, expand or relocate your qualified business to a tax-free zone in New York State.
Imagine what your company could do with the money
saved by operating tax-free.
This credit would be calculated by the business when filing its tax return. For businesses with 100% of their operations (assets and payroll) in a tax-free area(s), the credit would eliminate any tax liability. For businesses with operations in and out of a tax-free area, the credit would be prorated based on the percentage of assets and payroll within a tax-free area(s).
This tax and these fees are levied on corporations based on the value of their stock. The organization tax and license fee are generally paid once and the maintenance fee is paid annually at certain times of the year according to payment schedules in tax law. Payment of the license and maintenance fees is made to the Tax Department by businesses incorporated out of state and the organization tax is paid to the Department of State for businesses incorporated in New York. If a business is 100% located in a tax-free area(s), the business would be exempt from paying the relevant taxes and fees once certified.
This tax is levied on businesses based on their payroll expense within the MCTD and is paid quarterly. If a business is 100% located in a tax-free area, the business would be exempt from this tax once certified.
Once certified, a business would apply to the Tax Department to receive a credit or refund for sales and use taxes paid for goods and services used or consumed by the business’s operation in a tax-free area(s).
Leases of real property in a tax-free area to an approved business are exempt from the New York State real estate transfer tax. This exemption also applies to any local real estate or real property transfer tax imposed locally.
Employees hired for and whose jobs are certified as net new jobs in a tax-free area will pay no state or local income taxes for the first five years. For the second five years, employees will pay no taxes on income up to $200,000 for individuals, $250,000 for a head of household and $300,000 for taxpayers filing a joint return. There is an annual cap per business on the number of employees that qualify for this exemption and an annual cap statewide of 10,000 net new jobs. For example, there will be a maximum of 10,000 tax-free jobs after year one, 20,000 tax-free jobs after year two, etc.
To participate in START-UP NY, your company must meet the following requirements:
Be a new business in New York State, or an existing New York business relocating to or expanding within the state
Partner with a New York State college or university
Create new jobs and contribute to the economic development of the local community
Your company should belong to one of the many eligible industries below.